Remember to Breathe YYC

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Thiago Valentin de Oliveira and I was born here in São Gonçalo (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), where I currently live. I am 23 years old and I am finishing my undergraduation on Electronic and Computer Engineering from Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro. I spent the last year living in Calgary (Alberta, Canada), while being part of the “Ciência sem Fronteiras” (Science without Borders), an interchange program.

Calgary has got amazing places and some still unknown by people that have lived for their whole lives there – the same way I don’t know all the places in Rio. Therefore, this idea came out of bringing together the best features of this city and a short version of everything I have done there. I am an enthusiastic bike lover, and the beautiful pathway system in Calgary has given me so much pleasure and joy. I also have done several hikes and tried to learn some winter sports.

So, all of this – and much more – will be here. If you are trying to find a good place to go, a nice restaurant, a park or museum, or even if you are trying to know how to get around the city by public transportation, this is what you were looking for. Even though most of the places I will talk about are in Calgary, I won’t leave the best features in Alberta outside. Surrounding areas, specially the Rocky Mountains, will be here for sure. Have fun and enjoy it!

Comments are more than welcome and, if you prefer, you can contact me at thiagovalentin@poli.ufrj.br.

Primeiramente, gostaria de me apresentar. Meu nome é Thiago Valentin de Oliveira e eu nasci aqui na cidade de São Gonçalo (Rio de Janeiro, Brasil), onde moro atualmente. Tenho 23 anos e estou prestes a concluir meu curso de Engenharia Eletrônica e de Computação pela Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro. Eu participei do programa de intercâmbio “Ciência sem Fronteiras” e morei no último ano na cidade de Calgary (Alberta, Canadá).

Calgary é uma cidade repleta de lugares maravilhosos e muitos deles ainda desconhecidos por moradores que estão lá a vida inteira – da mesma forma que eu não conheço todos os lugares do Rio. Portanto, tive esta ideia de reunir os melhores lugares que fui e os melhores passeios que fiz lá em Calgary. Eu amo pedalar e descobri em cada uma das ciclovias de Calgary um lugar maravilhoso, que me deu sempre muita alegria e prazer. Fiz muitas caminhadas longas (hikes) e tentei aprender alguns esportes de inverno.

Então, tudo isso – e muito mais – estará aqui. Se você procura um bom lugar para ir, um restaurante legal, um parque ou museu, ou até mesmo se só quer saber como funciona o sistema de transporte público, este é o lugar que procurava. Ainda que a maior parte dos lugares aos quais irei me referir seja em Calgary, não deixarei de fora as melhores paisagens de Alberta. As áreas adjacentes, especialmente as Montanhas Rochosas (Rocky Mountains) estarão aqui com toda a certeza. Divirta-se e aproveite!

Comentários são extremamente bem-vindos e, se preferir, envie-me um email para thiagovalentin@poli.ufrj.br.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

